



## Open letter to members of the FPA and AFA

To our peers in the profession and members of the FPA and AFA,

Next week, many of us will receive documents to vote on the proposed merger of the FPA and AFA.

We, the signatories, strongly support the unanimous recommendation of both boards that a merger is in the best interests of members, and of the wider profession.

While a merger offers many benefits, we believe three of the most crucial include:

- A stronger, united and more powerful voice for policy and advocacy efforts to government, regulators and key stakeholders.
- A more financially resilient Association that will foster and grow the profession by building a community that inspires, connects and serves its members.
- A greater capacity for campaigns to raise awareness of and promote the importance of financial advice, amongst both Australian consumers and potential new entrants to the profession.

For the merger to go ahead, 75% of members who vote need to vote in favour. Voting will open soon, and we strongly encourage you to get involved and support the future of our profession by voting 'yes'.

This is a crucial moment in the development of our profession. We have the opportunity to create a strong, unified voice that will strengthen and grow our profession, and positively impact the lives and financial wellbeing of Australians every day.

Join us and support the future of our profession. Vote 'yes' for the proposed FPA and AFA merger.

Sincerely,

**Dennis Bateman** 

AFA President (2006-2008) AFA Treasurer (2008-2012)

Julie Berry CFP® FPA Chair (2007-2010)

Mark Bineham
AFA President (2016-2020)

Jo-Anne Bloch FPA CEO (2006-2010)

Marisa Broome CFP® FPA Chair (2018-2022)

Dante De Gori CFP®

FPA CEO (2016-2022)

**Brad Fox** 

AFA President (2010-2012) AFA CEO (2013-2017)

Neil Kendall CFP® FPA Chair (2014-2018)

**Deborah Kent** AFA President (2014-2016)

Philip Kewin AFA CEO (2017-2021) Richard Klipin

AFA CEO (2006-2013)

Michael Nowak

AFA President (2020-2021 & 2012-2014)

Mark Rantall CFP® FPA CEO (2010-2016)

Matthew Rowe CFP® FPA Chair (2010-2014)

Jim Taggart

AFA President (2008-2010)