Financial Planning Education Council

The Financial Planning Education Council (FPEC) is an independent body chartered with raising the standard of financial planning education and promoting financial planning as a distinct learning area and a career of choice.

FPEC comprises financial planner practitioners and academics. It advises universities who are applying for FASEA accreditation of courses and provides industry support to academia, including support for academic research.

FPEC Governance

FPEC comprises academics and industry professionals. It is overseen by Chair Marc Olynyk AFP® – Senior Lecturer in Financial Planning Deakin University and provides advice to the FAAA Board.


FPEC Activities

FPEC seeks to raise the standard of financial planning education and promote financial planning as a distinct learning area and a career of choice for new students and career changers by:

  • Driving the development of university-level financial planning programs through the provision of advice for universities undergoing legislative accreditation, and by liaising with and assisting Treasury on educational matters.
  • Supporting structures within the university environment to build financial planning as a discipline by supporting research forums, research grants and by supporting FAAA Academic Awards.
  • Encouraging industry engagement with academia by promoting the university and industry partnerships, representing academics to regulatory bodies, supporting conferences and activities which bring academia and professional practice together.
  • Encouraging the growth of enrolments in financial planning courses by promoting financial planning as a career path to university and high school students, seeking to develop and grow scholarship funds, supporting the growth of internships and professional year placements for graduates.


Financial Planning Education Council Members

FPEC Chair
Marc Olynyk AFP®

Senior Lecturer
Deakin University

Ron McIver

University of South Australia

Robert Durand

Curtin University

Dr Michelle Cull

Associate Professor
Western Sydney University

Dr Kirsten McDonald

Associate Professor
Griffith University

Renae Anderson CFP®

Manager, Select Advice

Rebecca Watt CFP®

Senior Remediation Manager
Westpac Banking Corporation

Louise Trevaskis

Head of University & Student Programs
Financial Advice Association Australia

Dawn Thomas CFP®

Financial Adviser
The Wealth Designers

Sheila Gutierrez-Cabacungan

AFSL Licensee and Principal
Wealth Forum

Andrew Donachie

Senior Manager Advice & Guidance
Aware Super

Marriane Said

Diploma of Financial Planning Course Coordinator

The united voice for financial advice professionals