2021 FPA Award winners revealed

The Financial Planning Association of Australia (FPA) has today announced the winners of the 2021 FPA Awards. 

Now in its ninth year, the FPA Awards recognises exceptional financial planners, paraplanners, university students and FPA Professional Practices from across Australia.  

The awards also celebrate the individuals and businesses who go above and beyond to deliver outstanding results for clients and give back to the community. 

The winner of the coveted FPA CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER® Professional of the Year Award is Kathryn Creasy CFP® of Capital Partners in West Perth. The award acknowledges Kathryn’s outstanding approach to providing comprehensive financial planning advice to her clients but also her passion for mentoring those within her team and the broader profession.  

FPA CEO Dante De Gori CFP® said: “Kathryn exemplifies our FPA membership as a modern professional financial planner. She is a shining example to all those that are considering a career in financial planning and the life-changing difference our work can make with a client.” 

The winner of the FPA Professional Practice of the Year Award is Sydney-based Apt Wealth (NSW). The judges commented that it’s not easy to establish and be recognised as one of the 2021 AFR BOSS Best Places to Work in financial services.  

Winning the FPA Financial Planner AFP® of the Year Award for 2021 is Leanne Bielik AFP® of 2020 Wealth PTY LTD (VIC). The judges noted that Leanne has paved the way to help those in need in the community get the help and support only a professional financial planner can provide them throughout the pandemic. Leanne also spends time in online communities supporting single mothers and clients who have had previous poor advice outcomes to get back on track. 

The winner of the FPA Advice Innovation Award is Daniel Thompson AFP® of FINNACLE (NSW). The award was introduced last year to recognise members who have automated their advice process or used technology in new ways to engage with clients and/or deliver advice. Daniel has taken a blank piece of paper approach and an agile mindset to create a novel subscription based advice service. Through testing and improving constantly, Daniel and his team have created an innovative, affordable and easily accessible advice business for the benefit of his clients.  

The FPA Paraplanner of the Year Award was given to Andrew Mann CFP® of Tupicoffs (QLD). The judges commented that Andrew is an example of what it is to excel in one’s craft. This award is a celebration of Andrew’s career and excellence in paraplanning, particularly his ability to be engaging, pulling complex threads together in such a way that embraces the client’s capacity to absorb information, and deal with matters that are important to the client.

The winner of the FPA University Student of the Year Award is Nicole Gardner of Kaplan Professional (VIC). Nicole has forged successful careers in journalism and in the banking sector. Inspired by the financial hardship that a close relative endured, she was determined to become a financial planner and to work hard to ensure that women and those entering aged care are financially educated and set up for success. She is now achieving a high standard of academic achievement whilst working in the financial planning profession and supporting a family.

The winner of the FPA Community Service Award supported by the Future2 Foundation is Peter O’Connell CFP® (VIC). The judging panel said that Peter has been a strong supporter of the Aboriginal Literacy Foundation in the Ballarat and Western Victoria area. For the past 15 years he has provided financial literacy education advice to the Indigenous community. He also supports the Aboriginal Literacy Foundation with their accounting and financial planning requirements.

The FPA gratefully acknowledges the time and expertise provided by the 2021 FPA judging panel: 



Alison Henderson CFP®

David Sharpe CFP®

Marisa Broome CFP®



Michelle Tate-Lovery CFP®

Ben Marshan CFP®

Nat Daley AFP®


FPA Professional Practice of the Year

Diana D’Ambra

Julie Matheson CFP®

Neil Kendall CFP®


FPA Advice Innovation Award 

Ben Marshan CFP®

Andy Marshall

Fraser Jack 


FPA Paraplanner of the Year Award

William Johns CFP®

Vicky Ampoulos

Mark O’Toole CFP®


FPA University Student of the Year 

Anne Palmer FPA

Diana Bugarcic – TAFE NSW

Vicky Ampoulos 


Video reel featuring the 2021 FPA Award winners is available on the FPA website here: 


FAAA welcomes AFCA decision to end Dixon Advisory membership

This year’s Budget is more about what isn’t included, not what is: FAAA

FAAA calls for fairer CSLR scheme ahead of Federal Budget

Member Benefits

Become a Member

FAAA Communities

Recognition & Awards

Pro Bono Advice