Culture & Communities Committee​ (CCC) changes

We are pleased to confirm some changes to the FAAA Culture & Communities Committee (CCC).

We farewell Julian Place CFP® the inaugural CCC Chair and welcome new FAAA Board Director Sheila Cabacungan CFP® to the role. We thank Julian for leading the CCC during its formative period and helping to successfully bringing together the strengths of both legacy associations.

Sydney Metro – Sheila has now stepped down from her previous role as Sydney Metro Chair, and we welcome Matthew Wallis and Shayne Sommer CFP® as co-chairs of the Sydney Metro Community.

SA State – After leading the SA Chapter for a number of years, Michael Smith has now passed the baton to Deputy Chair, James Farrelly. We want to take this opportunity to thank Michael for his passionate commitment to supporting local member engagement in South Australia.

Gen Next – after revitalising Gen Next during the post-COVID period, Ashley Mahadeea has stepped down as the National Chair. During his time in the role Ash has been dedicated to the future of advice and brought many new entrants together while also educating through a successful podcast series. We are delighted to announce that Daniel Thompson will now lead this vibrant growing community, with Ash stepping into the Deputy Chair role.

Inspire – after leading the Inspire Community for several years, passionate Inspire advocate Dawn Thomas CFP® has elected to step down as National Chair. Dawn has been instrumental in maintaining momentum and growing the Inspire Community during her tenure and we are very grateful for the enormous commitment she has made to advancing the cause for women in the advice profession. Amie Baker, winner of the Female Excellence in Advice Award 2022 and another long-term member of the Inspire committee, will take up the baton leading this crucial voice for women in advice. Melody Edwards will step in to take the lead on Inspire activity within the Sydney Metro Community.

We thank all our committee members for your selfless contribution to supporting the FAAA, your fellow members and the profession. If you have any questions relating to these changes or would like to express your interest in joining a committee, please click here.



The Financial Advice Association Australia (FAAA) has announced Nathan Purnell of SWA Financial Planning as the recipient of the Gwen Fletcher Memorial Award for the first... read more

The united voice for financial advice professionals

Member Benefits

Become a Member

FAAA Communities

Pro Bono Advice