FPA names second 2021 winner of Gwen Fletcher Memorial Award

The Financial Planning Association of Australia (FPA) has named Sydney-based financial planner Susan Buda of Brady & Associates Financial Advisers, as the second 2021 winner of the Gwen Fletcher Memorial Award.

Named after the late ‘First lady of Financial Planning’, the award recognises the highest performing student in the CFP® Certification Unit (CFP C) for each semester, with demonstrable dedication to providing high-quality financial advice.

Mrs Buda said the CFP® Certification Program was a challenging, but practical experience especially whilst working at home during lockdown with young children.

“It was a challenging course, but I was surprised and delighted to win this award,” Mrs Buda said.

Mrs Buda completed a Master’s of Financial Planning at Kaplan Professional and took the Master’s integration pathway into the CFP® Certification Program.

“I always intended on doing the CFP® Certification Program because it’s an internationally recognised designation and acknowledged as a sign of excellence in financial planning.”

She said the CFP® Certification Program is very practical and draws upon a real world case study that challenges your critical thinking skills.

“You have to assess the client’s situation, consider their communication style and present all options and their outcomes. It’s a great practical experience that will benefit my clients.”

FPA CEO, Dante De Gori CFP®, congratulated Mrs Buda on her win: “I would like to congratulate Susan on her achievement and to formally recognise her ongoing commitment to Gwen’s legacy of improving the financial planning profession through education and higher professional standards.

“The FPA is pleased to hear positive feedback around the CFP® Certification program, particularly around the practical application. The program equips financial planner practitioners with the skills to deliver the highest quality of advice to Australian consumers,” concludes Mr De Gori.

The CFP® designation is the only financial planning designation recognised globally. It is a recognised symbol of excellence for financial planners who are actively committed through higher education and accountability to adhering to world-class professional and ethical standards.

With the new education standards, all financial planners will be expected to hold an approved degree by 2026. The CFP® designation continues to offer financial planning professionals a way to differentiate themselves in the profession.

This is the second Gwen Fletcher Memorial Award winner this year, with Melbourne-based financial planner Renato Manias being recognised in February 2021.

For more information and to apply for the CFP® Certification Program, visit

FAAA welcomes AFCA decision to end Dixon Advisory membership

This year’s Budget is more about what isn’t included, not what is: FAAA

FAAA calls for fairer CSLR scheme ahead of Federal Budget

Member Benefits

Become a Member

FAAA Communities

Recognition & Awards

Pro Bono Advice