Awards finalists revealed ahead of FPA Professionals Congress

The Financial Planning Association of Australia (FPA) has announced the shortlist for all six categories of the 2018 FPA Awards ahead of the presentation ceremony at FPA Professionals Congress in Sydney .

The FPA Awards recognise the achievements of outstanding financial planners, paraplanners, students and practices, and celebrate the individuals and businesses who go above and beyond for their local community.

FPA CEO Dante De Gori CFP® said finalists had been chosen because they have made a positive difference in the lives of clients, and delivered the highest professional and ethical standards outlined in the FPA Code of Professional Practice.

“Those shortlisted in the financial planner categories have shown exceptional commitment to professional standards and they’ve put their client’s best interest first at all times. I am extremely proud of the work being done by all the finalists and look forward to announcing the winners at Congress in November.”

Mr De Gori also highlighted the Community Service Award supported by Future2 Foundation that honours outstanding pro bono and volunteer work by CFP® professionals and Financial Planner AFP® members.

“With support from the financial planning community, we’re now on track to raise $1 million in grants for Future2 since fundraising started in 2007. As the philanthropic arm of the FPA, Future2 gives members the opportunity to raise funds for grassroots programs that transform the lives of young people who are experiencing social, financial or physical hardship.

“I’m especially proud of our members who contribute to Future2 through donations, getting involved in fundraising activities and by nominating organisations for the annual grant program.”

Depending on the category, prizes include $5,000 for either professional development or a charity of choice, support for media opportunities, and complimentary registration to the FPA Professionals Congress.

Award winners will be announced at the FPA 2018 Professionals Congress, along with the winner of the bi-annual Gwen Fletcher Memorial Award. For more information about the FPA Professionals Congress visit

The shortlist for each award is as follows:

FPA CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER® Professional of the Year Award
Michael Carmody CFP® – Viva Wealth (WA)
James McFall CFP® – Yield Financial Planning (VIC)
Chris Smith CFP® – VISIS Private Wealth (QLD)

FPA Financial Planner AFP® of the Year Award
Felicity Cooper AFP® – Cooper Wealth Management (QLD)
James O’Reilly AFP®– Northeast Wealth (VIC)
Sandra Slattery AFP® – Commonwealth Financial Planning (NSW)

FPA Paraplanner of the Year Award
Pierce Hanlen – Hewison and Associates (VIC)
Kearsten James CFP® – Sterling Private Wealth (QLD)
Emma Zwaan AFP® – Capital Partners (WA)

Community Service award supported by Future2 Foundation
Amanda Cassar AFP®– Wealth Planning Partners (QLD)
Wayne Fenton AFP® – Elders Financial Planning (TAS)
Zacary Leeson CFP® – HPH Solutions (WA)

FPA Professional Practice of the Year Award

Eureka Whittaker Macnaught – Sydney (NSW)
VISIS Private Wealth – Brisbane (QLD)
Wotherspoon Wealth – Adelaide (SA)

FPA University Student of the Year Award
Mary Hadgis – University of South Australia (SA)
Mitchell Harrison – Deakin University (VIC)
Paul Travis – Griffith University (QLD)